

Agenda Schools Forum

Monday 19 June 2023 at 2.30 pm in the Council Chamber - Sandwell Council House, Oldbury

Apologies for Absence 11 - 12 To receive any apologies for absence. Declarations of Interest 13 - 14 Members to declare any interests in matters to be

3 To note Claire Hadley as the new 16 to 19 Provider representative

discussed at the meeting.

To note Claire Hadley as the new 16 to 19 Provider representative who has replaced Jane Bailey following her resignation from Forum.

4 **Minutes** 15 - 28

To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 20 March 2023 as a correct record.

5 **School Balances 2022/23 and Budget Plans** 29 - 34 **2023/24**

To note the balances held by schools at the end of 2022/23 and the RAG ratings of the projected balances for 2023/24.



















Special Educational Needs High Needs Block 6 35 - 40 **Provisional Outturn Report 2022-2023** To note the contents of the report in relation to the 2022/23 High Needs Block Grant Provisional Outturn Report for 1 April 2022 to 31 March 2023. 7 **Dedicated Schools Grant Outturn 2022/23** 41 - 44 To note the Dedicated Schools Grant Outturn 2022/23. 8 **Constitution Review** 45 - 66 To consider the updates to the Schools Forum Constitution and review the proposed membership structure.

9 Future Meeting Dates

- 2 October 2023
- 6 November 2023
- 11 December 2023
- 15 January 2024
- 18 March 2024
- 17 June 2024

10 **AOB**

Consideration for the future Chair and Vice Chair of Schools Forum for the academic year 2023/24 and 2024/25.

The election process of new Schools Forum Members.

Shokat Lal Chief Executive

Sandwell Council House Freeth Street Oldbury West Midlands

Distribution

N Toplass (Chair)
J Barry, M Arnull, S Baker, D Barton, E Benbow, K Berdesha, L Bray,
D Broadbent, C Hadley, C Handy, D Irish, W Lawrence, S Mistry, D Steen,
J Topham and Union

Contact: democratic services@sandwell.gov.uk

Schools Forum Distribution to Members:

Body / Number of positions on Forum	Nominated Member	Nominated Substitute
Head Teachers Advisory Forum – Maintained Primary Schools (5)	Ms S Baker Mr J Barry Ms W Lawrence Vacancy Mrs S Mistry	L Paino A Connop S Penny Nomination awaited K Duff
School Governors – Maintained Primary Schools (3)	Mrs D Steen Mrs E Benbow Vacancy	Nomination awaited Nomination awaited Nomination awaited
Head Teachers Advisory Forum – Maintained Secondary Schools (1)	Christina Handy- Rivett	M Smith
School Governors – Maintained Secondary Schools (2)	Mrs D Broadbent Vacancy	Nomination awaited Nomination awaited
Academies (4)	Ms L Bray Mr D Irish Mr M Arnull Mr J Topham	Nomination awaited Nomination awaited Nomination awaited Nomination awaited
Head Teachers Advisory Forum – Special School (1)	Mr N Toplass (Chair)	Nomination awaited
Trade Union (1)	Mr. D Barton	Phil Jones
Early Years Partnership (1)	Vacancy	Nomination awaited
14-19 Provider (1)	Ms C Hadley	M Salter
Pupil Referral Unit (1)	Ms K Berdesha	Ms K Hazelwood

Schools Forum: Voting Blocks (Who can vote and on what?)

Secondary Maintained Block	Voting
Headteachers	
J Christina Handy-Rivett	
	Can vote on all business except primary
Governors	school de-delegation.
Mrs D Broadbent	
Vacant	

Primary Maintained Block	Voting
Headteachers	
Sally Baker	
Jamie Barry	
Vacancy	
Wendy Lawrence	Can vote on all business except
Seema Mistry	secondary school de-delegation.
Governors	
Ms L Howard	
Mrs E Benbow	
Vacancy	

Special Block	Voting
Neil Toplass	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de-delegation and education functions.

Academies Block	Voting
James Topham (Secondary)	0
Dave Irish (Secondary)	Can vote on all business except primary
Mark Arnull (Secondary)	and secondary school de-delegation and education functions.
Lucy Bray (Primary)	education functions.

Schools Forum: Voting Blocks (Who can vote and on what?) Continued...

Pupil Referral Unit	Voting
Kuldip Berdesha	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school de-delegation and education functions.

NON-SCHOOL MEMBERS

Early Years Partnership	Voting
Vacancy	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school dedelegation and education functions.

Trade Union	Voting
Darren Barton NUT	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school dedelegation and school funding formula.

16-19 Provider	Voting
Claire Hadley	Can vote on all business except primary and secondary school dedelegation and school funding formula.

Schools Forum: Quorum

- (a) A meeting will only be quorate if 40% of the total active membership is present (Voting Members Only). Where a nominated substitute member is in attendance on behalf of a duly appointed member, he/she shall be included in the number of persons present for the purposes of determining if a quorum has been achieved.
- (b) If the meeting is inquorate, it will be able to proceed but cannot legally take decisions (E.g. Election of a Chairperson, or a decision relating to funding conferred by the funding regulations). An inquorate meeting can respond to authority consultation and give views to the authority. The authority can take account of such views

Information about meetings in Sandwell



If you are attending the meeting and require assistance to access the venue, please contact Democratic Services (democratic services@sandwell.gov.uk).



If the fire alarm sounds, please follow the instructions of the officers present and leave the building by the nearest exit.



Only people invited to speak at a meeting may do so. Everyone at the meeting is expected to be respectful and listen to the discussion.



Agendas with reports with exempt information should be treated as private and confidential. It is your responsibility to ensure that any such reports are kept secure. After the meeting confidential papers should be disposed of in a secure way.



This meeting may be recorded and broadcast on the Internet. If this is the case, it will be confirmed at the meeting and further information will be provided.



You are allowed to use devices for the purposes of recording or reporting during the public session of the meeting. When using your devices they must not disrupt the meeting – please ensure they are set to silent.



Members who cannot attend the meeting should submit apologies by contacting Democratic Services (democratic services@sandwell.gov.uk)



All agenda, reports, minutes for Sandwell Council's meetings, councillor details and more are available from our website